Happy birthday, Trees!

My colleague once said that women can leave three lasting legacies: write a book, give birth, and plant a tree.

Today, the trees I planted turned 6 years old. πŸ™‚

Yes, I brought Doraemon with me πŸ™‚ *Some of the photos were taken by buhaykalsada.multiply.com (website no longer active)

When I was still working for IBM in 2008, I joined a company-wide tree planting activity. Β We all hiked to Ipo Dam in Norzagaray, Bulacan, Philippines. It took us hours to get to the tree planting site and it just felt great to give back to Mother Nature. At the time, there is an alarming rate of deforestation in the area and several mountaineers also did their part in planting trees.

It is one of the best things I’ve ever done in my life. The trees are now 6 years old and I couldn’t imagine how tall they are. Anytime is the best time to plant a tree. In this ever-changing world, where only a small portion of the world are caring about trees, it doesn’t hurt to take the initiative to plant even just one tree. You can start leaving a legacy and making your mark in saving the Earth.

When will you start? πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

