Check

If you are someone who wants to be on top when it comes to paying your bills on time, then I highly recommend downloading this app called Check.

I came across this app while browsing through Facebook and since it’s free, I downloaded it. Basically what it does is it keeps track of  bills, reminds you that you need to pay this and that, it shows you the total amount of debt you owe to credit cards, total amount of bills you have to pay and how much is left on your bank account. This app will literally wake you up from your shopping spree dreams and will smack you in the face with this reality called financial status.

Once you download it, you just need to register with your email address which is the normal drill. Then you can go ahead and punch in your logins for your utility accounts (electric, gas, cable, mobile, etc), your credit card logins (pretty much safe just like Mint), any investments you have and your bank details. Pretty scary at first but there’s no harm in reading through everything first before you enter your personal information.

The main reason why I downloaded it is just to keep track of my bills. I am never late for payments so I always put notes in my calendar regarding payment deadlines. I also made an excel file where I keep track of my expenses and how much I am saving. But admittedly, sometimes I just get so busy with other stuff that I couldn’t monitor my own financial issues. It was just in time that I found out about Check so I can just have a one-stop shop or let’s just say my own financial secretary. It also gives you suggestions how you can pay off your credit card debts, will recommend cards with 0% APR (but take note they are only zero for a number of months so we should always verify the “actual” APR), and will give you suggestions how to improve your credit score.

So far it’s been helping me a lot not to splurge on stuff I don’t need.

I’m giving it 4.5 oinks.

I would’ve given 5 if I’m getting paid for this. :p

 

Financial peace isn’t the acquisition of stuff. It’s learning to live on less than you make, so you can give money back and have money to invest. You can’t win until you do this. –Dave Ramsey

 

 

Leave a Reply

